The official language is Nepali (Gurkhali, Gorkhali or Khaskura), native to almost half of the country’s inhabitants. Nepali developed from Sanskrit and is quite close to Hindi, belonging to the North Indian group of the Indo-European family of languages; Nepali has also experienced the impact of several mountain languages. Writing based on the Devanagari alphabet.

Another 120 different languages ​​and dialects are spoken in Nepal. On the territory of the Terai and Sivalik mountains, residents most often speak one of the Hindi dialects. Among the immigrants from India, Indo-European languages ​​are also widespread, including Bengali, Maithili and Bhojputri (languages ​​of the Biharians), Thara, Urdu, etc. In the Greater Himalayas, Tibeto-Burmese languages ​​prevail (at least 100 languages ​​and dialects). Some of them are considered dialects of the Tibetan language (the Bhotiv language – Kham and the Sherpa language – Kangba). English is often used in business practice.

Belarusian companies have many projects in Nepal. This is a good opportunity to develop economic cooperation.

According to the constitution, in areas where Nepali is not the main language of local residents, local languages ​​are declared national. However, by the decision of the Supreme Court, other languages ​​cannot be used by local authorities as an official one.